I’ve just seen something in the sky! What do I call it?!

A Quick and Easy Guide to Naming Your Near Earth Object Sighting!

Many of the recent Russian meteorite related comments being banded round by the media and things like twitter that are just plain wrong, I though I’d post a quick article about meteorite terms! After all, we wouldn’t want people confusing their showers with their strewn fields (One would be significantly more painful than the other)!

So here’s my quick guide to naming what you’ve seen:

Object deffinition chart

The more observant of you may have noticed that a few of the categories have changed- I’d like to thank Erin Ryan for her help in correcting a few of the ways I was previously classifying things! (It turns out comets are more than just lumps of ice! – I know, I’m a bad planetary scientist for not knowing that!)

Please note: This is not an exhaustive list of the nomenclature of NEOs. It includes the most common objects observed!

About Mark Nottingham

Mark is a PhD student in the Isotope Geochemistry and Cosmochemistry group at UoM. Primarily working on the RIMSKI and RELAX noble gas instruments.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Background Science, Events, News, Space, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

