Noble Gases

What are noble gases? Why are we interested in them? And what do they tell us about how the earth and solar system formed?

Periodic Table. Image courtesy of NASA (www.nasa.gov)

Periodic Table. Image courtesy of NASA (www.nasa.gov)

Helium, neon, argon, krypton and xenon.

These gases are very rare on Earth and in meteorites. They are unreactive. And each element has many different forms, known as isotopes.

Isotopes are forms of the same element – they have the same number of protons and electrons. But they have different numbers of neutrons which lead to them having different masses. Imagine your friends and family – you are all human beings, but you all have different masses. In the same way, isotopes are the same element but have different masses.

Helium has 2 isotopes: 3He and 4He. Neon has 3: 20Ne, 21Ne and 22Ne. Argon has 3: 36Ar, 38Ar and 40Ar. Krypton has 6 isotopes: 78Kr, 80Kr, 82Kr, 83Kr, 84Kr and 86Kr. Xenon tops the table with a massive 9 isotopes: 124Xe, 126Xe, 128Xe, 129Xe, 130Xe, 131Xe, 132Xe, 134Xe and 136Xe.

The unreactive nature of the noble gases means that they do not readily undergo chemical reactions to form compounds with other elements. Any changes or differences observed in the elemental or isotopic composition are due to physical processes.

Only very tiny amounts of these elements are present in both terrestrial rocks and meteorites. This means small changes in their isotopic and elemental composition can be detected, differences which would not be noticeable against a background of more abundant elements.

Once such example where we can learn about the history of a meteorite is by looking at 129Xe.  129I is a radioactive isotope of iodine which decayed to form 129Xe in the early solar system, with a half-life of just under 16 million years. Once a meteorite has formed, the iodine trapped in that meteorite continues to decay, and the xenon it produces remains trapped inside the rock, leading to an excess of 129Xe relative to the other isotopes in many meteorites. The only other isotope of iodine is stable, 127I. We put meteorites samples into a nuclear reactor to convert the  127I to 128Xe, and then measure the ratio of 128Xe to 129Xe using the RELAX mass spectrometer. This tells us the ratio of  127I  to 129I when the meteorite formed, which in turn tells us how old the meteorite is. This process of dating meteorites is known as I-Xe dating, and will be discussed in more detail in the future.

Studying the noble gases helps us to unravel some of the secrets of the solar system, discover more about the 4.5 billion year history of a meteorite, and learn about the journey it made to the Earth.

About Sarah Crowther

I'm a Post Doc in the Isotope Geochemistry and Cosmochemistry group. I study xenon isotope ratios using the RELAX mass spectrometer, to try to learn more about the origins and evolution of our solar system. I look at a wide range of samples from solar wind returned by NASA's Genesis mission to zircons (some of the oldest known terrestrial rocks), from meteorites to presolar grains.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Background Science and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Noble Gases

  1. Pingback: How small is small? | Earth & Solar System

  2. Byron says:

    So thoughts about Iodine:
    Do some meteorites have a higher abundance of I127 (actually in the form of Iodide) than might be generally found in the earth’s crust, and for that matter in the universe in general, at 1×10-7? If Susan J. Crockford’s conclusions in “Evolutionary roots of iodine and thyroid hormones in cell-cell signaling,” published in 2009 are correct, iodine may play a critical role in the evolution of higher forms of life on earth and thus, may be an indicator of life on extrasolar planets. In the case of meteorites, might they have brought the critical iodine to earth in the early formation of our solar system, via out gassing of other planets such as Mars, which might be determined by aging the rocks with I-127/I-129 ratios? Based on her conclusions this doesn’t pose well for life being found on Mars, but raises speculation about a kind of complex panspermia that might have facilitated life on earth. I have many questions and no answers. But the relationship of I to Xe seems rather important to me, not just for dating, but also in the possible role it may have had in evolving life forms on earth.

    • Sarah Crowther says:

      Meteorites do generally contain 127I, and it is actually the 129I/127I ratio that we are trying to determine through I-Xe dating. I won’t go into the details of the dating process here, but if you’re interested in learning more have a look at a recent review by Gilmour et al. (Meteoritics and Planetary Science 41, 19-31, 2006). 127I concentrations can range from less than 1 to a couple of hundred parts per billion, and 129I/127I ratios were ~104 when most meteorites formed.

  3. Pingback: Halogens within the Earth and Solar System | Earth & Solar System

  4. seprince says:

    Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after going through some of the articles I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyhow, I’m definitely happy I came across it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back frequently!

  5. Minerva says:

    Hi there, after reading this remarkable article i am too happy to share my experience here with
    colleagues.

  6. webpage says:

    There’s certainly a great deal to know about this subject. I really like all the points you’ve made.

  7. Pingback: Comets: Atmospheres, water, and life? | Earth & Solar System

Leave a Reply

